The show opener over a wild west saloon

Rebusify Verified Reviews, Email Users, WP Broken Link Status Checker and ClassicPress News in Episode 410

text reading "Life is a one time offer Use it well" over a fern.It's Episode 410 and I've got plugins for Verified Reviews for WooCommerce, Emailing Users, Broken Link Checking, and Classic Press Options. It's all coming up on WordPress Plugins A-Z!

All the show notes can be found at: WPPluginsAtoZ.com

Make sure you subscribe and review the show at:

Stitcher Radio, Google Play and in the iTunes Store.
Watch Live Every Thursday at Noon, Subscribe and Check out our Training Videos, Screen-casts and extra shows on the YouTube channel.

Follow the show on Twitter @wppluginsatoz
Join Us on Our Facebook Page
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Pushing towards Episode 420 and looking to have some fun with it.

With that, let's dive right into the meat and potatoes. I have a great set of plugins for you today!

To start off I have a plugin that I have yet to use but thought you might want to know they exist. Keep in mind the ratings are based off the descriptions on their site and using their demo if available.

sent in by Michael Allen

Rebusify Verified Reviews WooCommerce Extension

https://www.rebusify.com/woocommerce-rebusify-confidence-system-plugin
https://wordpress.org/plugins/rebusify-verified-reviews-woocommerce-extension/

Version:1.0.5
Requires: or higher
Compatible up to:5.2.2
Released:02 May 2019
Downloads:166
Last Updated:20 May 2019
Ratings:
4.7
(4.7 star out of 5)

What they say:
We created a WooCommerce extension that posts verified reviews to the Ethereum blockchain. These reviews show up on the merchants auto-created company profile page. What this does is stop non-customers from reviewing products/services. Since there is a such a problem with fake negative reviews and as someone who experienced it first hand, it was only right that we create this. It took us over a year to develop the technology and it's finally out there
When your customers buys your product or service via WooCommerce using the Rebusify Confidence System, they have 30 days to leave a 1 through 5-Star review, along with a title and description of the product or service. Once they create that review, it is immediately ported over to rebusify.com where it becomes searchable. And in an industry first, Rebusify is proud to add the enhanced ability to store reviews on the Ethereum blockchain, where they become a permanent record impossible to modify.
With the Rebusify Confidence System (RCS), merchants can safely send customers to Rebusify.com to view their company profile page displaying real reviews from actual, real and verified customers. Not some random fake reviews from unscrupulous competitors, ex-employees or someone with a grudge.
Each company that uses the RCS gets their own SEO optimized company page where all the company details are listed, along with all their verified reviews. These will also appear on Google, when people do review searches for a company.

Rating 4 Dragons

——————-

WordPress News and Info

Joomla and WordPress Found Harboring Malicious Redirect Code by targeting the .htaccess files
https://threatpost.com/joomla-and-wordpress-malicious-redirect-code/

Sweet 16 for WordPress
https://wptavern.com/happy-sweet-16-wordpress

These plugins slow down your WordPress
https://servebolt.com/articles/these-plugins-slow-down-your-wordpress

This show is brought to you by:

John Overall.com WordPress & Web Services

Finding quality WordPress Hosting and support can be a challenge, well you can drop that stress by contacting JohnOverall.com web services. I can help you eliminate your WordPress stress. Solving your WordPress Emergency issues or doing the more day to day items such as finding that perfect plugin, helping you move to a new hosting provider or even providing Quality WordPress hosting.
With 20yrs Exp. on-line and over 8 years dedicated to WordPress, JohnOverall.com provides all your web service needs from hosting to WordPress development, repairs and WP Malware Removal.

Visit my website JohnOverall.com, Call 818-850-7729 or send an email to john@wppro.ca

Contest win a Premium Plugin License For:

Contests Powered by Simple Giveaways who kindly provided us with the premium version for our contests.

Current Contest running until the end June 5, 2019 is for:
Single Site License for WooCommerce All Discounts which was reviewed in Episode 405

The Last Discount Plugin you will need for WooCommerce:
Set up bulk discounts by applying a percentage or fixed discount off the quantity of an item ordered by your customer. It is a selling strategy that works for product sellers that want to move unsold products faster.
Check it out at https://discountsuiteforwp.com/

This plugin was reviewed in Episode 405.

Visit http://WPPluginsAtoZ.com/contests for more info.

The next plugin I have for you is:

Email Users

https://wordpress.org/plugins/email-users/

Version:4.8.8
Requires:4.9 or higher
Compatible up to:4.9.10
Released:18 April 2007
Downloads:434972
Last Updated:25 February 2018
Ratings:
4.3
(4.3 star out of 5)

The Lowdown:
After doing lots of upgrades to a membership site it comes a time to notify all the users of the great new website you have created. So what do you do? This plugin help you with that issue by allowing you to send out mass emails to groups of users based on their user group.

You can send out the emails with all the info you need to let your users know about the new site but there are some caveats to this plugin. It does not do cuing or limiting of the number of outgoing emails at once, which can present an issue on some hosting providers.

There have been some comments on this plugin that it's a bit buggy and hard to use for non-techies and can pose some problems. It may be the solution for you have a look at it in a dev environment.

Rating 3 Dragons

Listener Feedback / Audio Clips

I like listener feedback. You can leave feedback via our contact page, Speakpipe or email us directly.

WP Plugins A to Z was featured as a top 20 podcast in Tech Funnel https://www.techfunnel.com/information-technology/%E2%80%8Btop-20-wordpress-podcasts-you-need-to-hear-in-2019/

Listener Questions
—————————————-

Show Donors

This Show is a Value for Value model meaning if you get any value out of it please give some value back and in that vein I like to acknowledge those that have supported the show with donations of $50 and over.

For all those who come in below $50 they will remain anonymous and I thank you very much.

A big thank you to our donors who came in under $50 and to those who have set up weekly subscriptions.
All these small subscriptions really help the show out.

A big thank you to those who have hired me because of the Podcast thank you that is as good as donating to the show.

Give some value back by:

This show is listener supported and we can use more than just money to help the show grow.

Visit http://wppluginsatoz.com/donate/ and create a donation amount that fits you.

Support the show with art work..

You can also create a monthly donation at Patreon

Next up I have:

WP Broken Link Status Checker

https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-link-status/

Version:1.0.6
Requires:3.4 or higher
Compatible up to:5.1.1
Released:11 February 2016
Downloads:96898
Last Updated:16 March 2019
Ratings:
4.7
(4.7 star out of 5)

The lowdown:

I normally don't recommend doing this, but if you are in need of checking out your site for broken links and do not have access to a tool such as Screaming Frog, then this is a good option. Just be sure to turn it off after you have finished your work.

Broken link checkers have had a checkered past on WordPress. They were very popular years ago and worked well for the most part. The problems started when sites got larger and these plugins ran all the time, using massive amounts of resources on a server.

The devs of this plugin have said they have emphasized site performance over the scan of the plugin.

Using this, you can find out if you have any errors in you links throughout your site and get them fixed up. It does seem to perform OK and not too heavy a load but be sure to turn off when done. I do recommend using a proper spider tools such as Screaming Frog, but they are a bit more pricey than this.

Rating 4 Dragons.

ClassicPress Options

Since the release of Gutenberg, and its fallout, ClassicPress has garnered a lot of attention. This is a fork of WordPress and is focused on Business Websites and is looking pretty good. It does seem in the past few months ClassicPress is coming into its own a bit and with some plugins now being created specifically for ClassicPress I do believe it has a future.

One thing I am looking forward to in the ClassicPress World is the expansion of the number of ClassicPress specific plugins and their own repository. Currently there are not a lot of ClassicPress specific plugins but I do know it is going to grow and I'll have to expand this segment then. Who knows, it could take over the whole show.

This week for ClassicPress I have:

News:

Directors Added to ClassicPress Limited
new Directors added to the ClassicPress board
https://www.classicpress.net/blog/2019/04/08/directors-added-to-classicpress-limited/

Some info from the CP forums
“Must Have” Plugins List
https://forums.classicpress.net/t/must-have-plugins-list/1163
This is a listing of great plugins to use in ClassicPress and notation on if the developers are supporting ClassicPress or building the plugin specifically for ClassicPress.

We also have a recommendation for a ClassicPress Community Member for a forum plugin to use in ClassicPress
Asgaros Forum
https://wordpress.org/plugins/asgaros-forum/

General info

JediPress
https://www.jedipress.com/
Developers for ClassicPress and WordPress

ClassicPress Resources:

The ClassicPress Club
https://classicpress.club/
An alternate forum for the non-techies.

“Must Have” Plugins List
https://forums.classicpress.net/t/must-have-plugins-list/1163

To find a listing of ClassicPress specific plugins check out this link https://forums.classicpress.net/t/plugins-built-specifically-for-classicpress/1011?u=codepotent there is currently 37 plugins here and growing I look forward to the day they have their own repository. I can still recall WP when it had a small repository.

Closing out this Episode the Plugins I covered were:

John’s Plugins: Rebusify Verified Reviews – 4, Email Users – 3, WP Broken Link Status Checker – 4

Reminders / Commercial / Promotions:

A new Interview with Seth Shoultes from Event Espresso https://www.johnoverall.com/interview-37-seth-event-espresso/

I appeared on the BeBizzy Podcast check it our here. https://bebizzy.com/how-to-choose-and-use-wordpress-plugins/

The next WordPress Meetup in Victoria will be June 23, 2019 at Boston Pizza in Victoria and will not be broadcast Live on YouTube. For location and more information check them out at https://wppluginsatoz.com/meetup. This is just a social get-together to talk about all things WordPress and ClassicPress.

Be sure to check out and subscribe to the YouTube Channel for WP Plugins A to Z where you find training Videos, Screencasts and of course the live show every week.

If you have suggestions on plugins you would like to have reviewed please submit them on the website at https://wppluginsatoz.com/submit-plugin-review/

For all developers who would like to support the show. You can donate a premium license to be used in a future contest please go to WPPluginsAtoZ.com/PluginContest

Be sure and subscribe to our Newsletter.

Just some reminders:

You can support the show at wppluginsatoz.com/donate

All the show notes can be found at: WPPluginsAtoZ.com

Subscribe and review the show at:

Stitcher Radio, Google Play and in the iTunes Store

Follow the show on Twitter @wppluginsatoz
Join Us on Our Facebook Page

Subscribe and Check out our Training Videos, Screencasts and Watch us Live on YouTube every Thursday at Noon PST

Subscribe to our Newsletter

How to Contact Me:

John can be contacted at:

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *